The Old Schoolroom was founded by Thomas Saunders in 1617 to house a ‘school for twelve worthy boys’. It is the schoolroom that featured in Thomas Hughes’ book ‘Tom Brown’s School Days’
The building was gifted to the Parish Council in 1958 by the Right Honourable Cornelia, Countess of Craven, and was used as the village reading room for many years. To make better use of the building, John Little, who lived in the village and was Chairman of the Parish Council, developed the idea of setting up the Museum and opened it in 1984 as the ‘Tom Brown’s School Museum’. Now owned by the Parish Council, the Old Schoolroom is maintained in the best possible state to house this fascinating museum.
The operation of the Museum is overseen by the Uffington Museum Trust. The trustees include 4 members of the Parish Council, the Curator and Friends of the Museum. The daily running of the Museum is undertaken by the Curator with the Friends of the Museum providing support.
We are pleased to report that our recent project to restore this 400 year old building to a proper state of repair was completed in March 2019. We are very grateful to the many individuals and organisations who have contributed to the funding, including the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development.
Following the restoration project, the sarsen kerbstones outside the museum have also been revealed and restored to their former glory improving both the appearance of the area and road safety at the junction.
Most recently, in 2021, the access and external appearance were improved considerably by the addition of a paved path from the steps up from the road to the door.
The Museum Website gives full details of the exhibits and exhibitions and other local information.